EFA logo
EFA logo

Press release

EFA Group elects new President

Press release from the EFA Group in the European Parliament

The European Free Alliance (EFA) Group in the European Parliament has elected Josep Maria Terricabras of Catalunya as its new President.

The EFA Group is made up of MEPs from stateless nations, regions and minorities. The EFA Group in the European Parliament works for self-determination for nations and regions, the decentralisation of decision making, protection of human rights, a strong, sustainable economy and international solidarity.

Pictured L to R: Ian Hudghton, Josep Maria Terricabras, Jill Evans

Terricabras was elected to the European Parliament in May 2014 as part of L'Esquerra pel Dret a Decidir – an alliance of Catalan parties supporting independence for Catalunya and social justice. He is a professor of Philosophy at the University of Girona.

Vice Presidents of the EFA Group will be MEPs Ian Hudghton (Scottish National Party) and Jill Evans (Plaid Cymru).


Follow on twitter: