Press release

EFA Group welcomes new SNP MEP

Heather Anderson replaces Alyn Smith

The European Free Alliance (EFA) Group in the European Parliament has welcomed new Scottish National Party (SNP) MEP Heather Anderson.

Ms Anderson replaces former EFA Group President Alyn Smith who was elected to Westminster at the December UK General Election.

The appointment also means that four of Scotland’s six MEPs will vote against Boris Johnson’s Brexit deal, a proportion which reflects the referendum result in Scotland. 

Commenting, Ms Anderson said:

"I’m delighted to be taking up my post, if only for a few days. 

"The people of Scotland resoundingly rejected Brexit at the referendum and have underlined that position at every subsequent election.  It’s therefore important that a full complement of Scotland’s MEPs is in place to register that view in the parliamentary record.

"We know that the UK is leaving the EU at the end of this week.  Scotland has a clear route back however – and I hope to be able to return to Brussels in the not so distant future to resume work as an MEP for an independent member state."