Press release

New President of European Parliament

Press release from EFA MEP J-M Terricabras (Catalunya)

Commenting on the election of Antonio Tajani as the new President of the European Parliament, President of the EFA Group in the European Parliament, Josep-Maria Terricabras said:

"I congratulate Mr Tajani on his election as President of the European Parliament.

"This institution which directly represents European citizens has a key role to play in the renewal of the European project at this critical time for Europe.

"It is significant that all of the main candidates in the election to be President of the European Parliament supported the official use of the Catalan language in the institution.

"I now look forward to this being realised as soon as possible.

"There is no better way to bring Europe closer to its citizens than by using and properly recognising their own languages.

"I look forward to being able to use Catalan in the plenary of the European Parliament, and to its wider official use."